January 23, 2020

Chugiak girls, second; Eagle River boys, third, in CIC championship swim meet

Chugiak girls, second; Eagle River boys, third, in CIC championship swim meet


Eagle River High senior Blaise Fox-Icarro cruises to victory in the boys 100 fly final Saturday. Fox-Icarro, one of ten Wolves athletes to advance to this weekend’s state meet, won the event in 53.18 seconds, and was a member of the school’s 200 medley relay team that won as well.


The Chugiak Mustang girls swim team got the most of their numbers, placing second, as did the Eagle River boys team, finishing third, at the Cook Inlet Conference swimming and diving championship held Thursday through Saturday at the Bartlett High 50-meter pool.

And while the team titles eluded them, individual awards were plentiful, with both schools sending a strong contingent on to this week’s State AAAA Championships, also at Bartlett.

Eagle River junior Jami Stone broke a 16-year region mark of Chugiak graduate Laini Patterson with a score of 471.90 points.

Other Wolves winners included Jordyn Bruce (100 breaststroke) and Blaise Fox-Icarro in the 100 fly. Fox-Icarro teamed up with Bryce Carpener, Nigel Floyd and Bryce Fox-Icarro to win the 200 medley relay.

Chugiak had individual event double-winners in Emmie Jennings and Samantha Burke in the 50 free/100 free and 200 free/100 backstroke, respectively. The pair teamed up with Abby Blackstone and Cheyenne Burke to also win the 200 and 400 free relays.

Jennings set a new Chugiak school record in the 50 free, with a time of 23.99 seconds.

Chugiak’s top individual finish on the boys’ side was supplied by senior diver Shawn Fugere, who placed third.

Chugiak coach Anne Williams was named CIC coach of the year.

Select members from both Chugiak and Eagle River now ready for the state meet held Friday and Saturday, at Bartlett.

Chugiak qualified 11 members, with Eagle River sporting 10 state-bound athletes.

Kodiak had the most individuals in this weekend’s meet, with 23, while Dimond, winners of the CIC boys and girls titles, is second with 22.

Those representing the Mustangs include Hanna Babin, Abby Blackstone, Cheyenne Burke, Samantha Burke, Leslie Cockreham, Shawn Fugere, Chase Gates, Emmie Jennings, Kate Marshall, Isabella Watsjold and Bea Williams.

Eagle River Wolves moving on to state are Jordyn Bruce, Bryce Carpenter, Noah De Los Santos, Brandon Fast, Nigel Floyd, Blaise Fox-Icarro, Bryce Fox-Icarro, Mark Korzon, Brady McGee and Jami Stone.

Visit link – 

Chugiak girls, second; Eagle River boys, third, in CIC championship swim meet